Associate Professor Smt. Madhumati Patra, M.A. , B.Ed.
Associate Professor Smt. Sunrita Mitra, M.A., M. Phil.
Associate Professor Dr Elizabeth Dey, M.A., Ph. D.
Guest Lecturer Smt. Soumita Mitra, M.A.
Guest Lecturer Smt. Sukanya Roy Choudhury, M.A., MPhil.

Departmental journal ‘EXPRESSIONS’ published annually since 2008

International Literacy Day (8th November) observed every year from 2009 onwards

Inter-college departmental student seminar organized annually since 2016 with Loreto College & Rani Birla Girls’ College

Surveys on various aspects of education carried out by the students of the dept. once a year since 2018 as summer project

Special Lectures by eminent faculty/experts, and student presentations in Active Learning Day programme organised every year

First classes in every batch, and Rank holders in the university BA Part III Honours Examination most years, the latest being –

2016 – 1st rank (Sukanya Roy Choudhury)
2017 – 2nd (Sayandita Deb Roy)& 3rd (Parnashree Ghosh)
2018 – 11th rank (Shivangi Jalan)

Programmes/webinars/workshops/conferences/special lectures organized by the department

Date Title of the programme Name of resource person/Organization Platform
8.9.20 International Literacy Day Dr. Arundhati Sarkar,Director, Manochetna(Edu’l & Research Wing, Manovikas Kendra) Google Meet
22.2.21 Special Lecture – Communication Skills Smt. Indrani Ray, Asst. Professor, Katwa College Google Meet
24.2.21 Special Lecture – Gandhiji as an Educator Dr. Debika Guha, Associate Professor, Loreto College Google Meet
25.6.21 Inter-college Departmental Students’ Seminar on ‘Sociology of Education’ Chairperson – Dr. Ranjana Banerjee, Associate Professor, Loreto College Google Meet
8.9.21 International Literacy Day Sri Protik Banerjee, State Coordinator, Chattisgarh, Room to Read India Trust Google Meet
23.3.22 Special Lecture- Women and Higher Education  Dr. Ranjana Banerjee, Associate Professor, Loreto College Google Meet
5.5.22 Inter-college Departmental Students’ Seminar on ‘Aspects of Mental Health and Behaviour’ Chairperson – Dr. Ranjana Banerjee, Associate Professor, Loreto College Google Meet
12.7.22 Workshop on Modalities of CC13 Practical Examination 2022 UG BoS Chairperson – Dr Jayanti Das College Auditorium
9.9.22 International Literacy Day Sri Anjan Chakraborty, CEO, Estory Infocom College, Room no. 301
15.9.23 OBSERVANCE OF INTERNATIONAL LITERACY DAY : On the theme ‘Literacy and Women Empowerment’ and release of
the departmental Journal ‘Expressions’
Department of Education Room 303 and 302
18.12.23 MoU followed by Faculty Exchange Programme with Education Department, Sivanath Sastri College Department of Education , Shri Shikshayatan College and
Department of Education, Sivanath Sastri College
At College
14.05.24 Inter-College Departmental Students’ Seminar —View Report Department of Education , Shri Shikshayatan College Room nos. 302 & 303
Srl. Yr. of Publication Download
1. 2020-21 Expression – 2021
2. 2021-22 Expression – 2022

ALUMNI i) Nalini Sicka – Principal (Retd.) of Modern High Girls’ School
ii) Dr Srilekha Ghosh (Batch 1972) – Associate Fellow at NUEPA, Educational Consultant at Ford Foundation, India (Retd.), Recepientof West Bengal Govt. Scholarship for Studies abroad (Reading University, U.K), Author of academic volumes on Educational Planning & Administration
iii) Dr Arundhati Sarkar (Batch 1985) – Director, Manochetna Educational & Research Wing, Kolkata
iv) Dr Mita Banerjee – VC, Kanyashree University
v) Vijaya Bhatia (Batch 1985) – Renowned lawyer, Partner of VB Bhatia Law Firm, Kolkata
vi) Sugandha Kumar (Batch 1985) – Principal of ‘I Can Fly’, School for Challenged individuals
vii) Dr Runa Biswas (Batch 1987)– Principal, Sivnath Shastri College
viii) Dr Suryatapa Chatterjee (Batch 2000) – Headmistress, DwarijangalBanamaliVidyabhaban High School, Sandeshkhali
ix) Saraswoti Sharma (Batch 2003) – awarded the prestigious Teach For India Fellowship
x) Aarushi Saha (Batch 2020) – awarded the prestigious Teach for India Fellowship
xi) Numerous alumni working as teachers in various schools across the country and abroad, and as Assistant/Associate Professors in various colleges in India.