Name of the Event: Study Circle on "National Security Issue: Addressing India-Pakistan Tensions"

Organised by: Department of Political Science, students of Semester VI

Date: May 10, 2025

Time: 11:40 am onwards

Venue: Room 303

Number of Participants:

Students: 28

Faculty: 04

Brief Description of the Event:

The Study Circle provides an informal platform for the students of the department to discuss relevant and contemporary political events and this was the second edition of the study circle in this academic year. Conducted by the students of semester VI, they chose to discuss the terrorist attack at Pahalgam in April 2025, delving into the larger theme of India-Pakistan bilateral relations. The students structured the discussions by setting the context, providing a brief historical outline, highlighting the religious, gendered and ideological facets, cautioning against communal discord and the misinformation campaign in such polarised times. Furthermore, the students addressed the strategic dimensions by analysing the weapon systems deployed, geopolitical reactions, the role of China in fomenting tensions, and the need to prioritise the lives of civilians and tackle war-mongering tendencies. The presentations were followed by an interactive session where other students and faculties participated.

Outcome: This event provided the platform to develop presentation skills, critically engage with current political occurrences and link these to various topics covered across their syllabus. The use of IR theories and Public Administration topics to explain defence procurement, recruitment, and policies to tackle terrorism allowed for a demonstration of these skills.

Photographs:





Attendance Record:

10.5.25 STUDY CIRCLE MEET-2 ROOM - 303 TIME -11.40 -SEMESTER - II SL NO SEMESTER-IV SEMESTER- VI FALULTY Sanashrite Gupta (230) Priprita Barna (57) Burist Chandhursi (36) Dr. Urmi Gupta 2 Spristi Baid (231) Adrija Salla (22) Prodipta Dey (233) Dr. Debolina Avial Vadar (57) Nandik Renjan(323) Dr. Sivili Mukkeyee Astha Choudhusy (460) AD Nand Agarwal (226) Rejon Dharok (168) Dr. Hormin Nukkenpa 200 Manshika 50 uningh shi Roy (228) Sheudi Lana (164 66 Kauy Upreet Rashi Kothani (209) leshika Buneyice (165) Stroisti Bheda (272) Reflesia Banerjee (231) Seeni Bienos Dipaminta Brikayasina (163) Priya Komani (261) Yashodhava Chalterier (259) Suvangi Banenjei (260) Swashing Shattarchange Amushka (hakrabaly (222) NAISA MINO (223) .