Post-Event Report:

Name and Date of event:

The Shri Shikshayatan College's two societies, the Debating Society and Chorcha organized the first bilingual Debate competition, Bitorko. It was conducted by the Debating Society and Chorcha members for the academic year 2023-24 for students from every department of the college on 24th June 2024.

The number of people attending:

Students from various departments of the college participated in the competition. There were 10 participants in attendance along with audience members and the organizing committee.

Conducted by:

The event was conducted by the SSC Debating Society Core Committee and SSC Chorcha Core Committee in room 212, under the guidance of respected Prakriti Rudra Ma'am and respected Chitrita Banerjee Ma'am.

Minutes of the Event:

 The Debate competition began at 1:30 pm and extended till 3:00 pm. The motion for the debate was "THBT Social Media Undermines Democracy by Exacerbating Polarization and Misinformation," or "সমাজ মাধ্যম মমরুকরণ এবং ভূয়া তথ্যের দ্বারা গণতন্ত্রকে দুর্বল করেছে মাত্র" Speaking time was 2+1 minutes for each participant. 1 rebuttal was allowed. The

Speaking time was 2+1 minutes for each participant. I rebuttal was allowed. The President of the Debating Society, Ms. Kirandip Kaur, and the Secretary, Ms. Simran Shaw, were the moderator and the time-keeper respectively. There was a total of 10 participants and 20 audience members. The esteemed Judges were Dr. Chitrita Banerjee- Associate Professor, Department of Bengali and Smt. Prakriti Rudra-Assistant Professor, Department of Commerce (Evening). The General Secretary of Chorcha, Ms. Pragya Chakraborty was the host and commenced the event with a warm welcome to everyone present.

- 2. The Rules and Regulations for the final round were:
 - a. The motion and the stance will be revealed 36 hours before the commencement of the event.
 - b. Stances are to be decided in no particular order. There shall not be any team made.
 - c. Speaking order will be informed beforehand.
 - d. Speaking time: 2+1 minutes. A warning will be given at the end of 2 minutes and the final bell will go off at the end of 3 minutes.
 - e. Participants surpassing the time limit will be penalized by the adjudicators.
 - f. Participants are requested to maintain the decorum of the debate. Use of unparliamentary language will be penalized.
 - g. The participants will be judged based on content, argument, appropriateness of language, presentation, and rebuttals.

- h. In case of any disputes the decision of the judges and the organizing committee will be final and binding.
- i. Non-adherence to any of the above norms will lead to immediate disqualification.
- 3. The Winner of the Bitorko Debate was Oyindrila Banerjee, Sem IV, Department of Commerce (evening); the 1st runner-up was Annesha Chanda, Sem IV, Department of History and the 2nd runner-up was Ahana Datta, Sem IV, Department of English. Respected Teacher-in-Charge, Papiya Chaudhary Ma'am was present for the concluding ceremony and distributed the prizes as well. Esteemed Judges, Dr. Chitrita Banerjee ma'am, and Smt. Prakriti Rudra ma'am gave their feedback to the competitors, after which the Vote of Thanks was given.

Conclusion:

The competition was successfully conducted by the Organising Committee of the event under the guidance of our respected Prakriti Rudra ma'am, respected Chitrita Banerjee ma'am and respected Teacher-in-Charge, Dr. Papiya Chaudhary ma'am. It was a grand success and a learning experience for all present.